Amuse Bouche: 5 Stages of Intoxication

As binNotes slaves away at the keyboards on some promised Spanish wine features, here’s a little bit of intoxication trivia for your amusement…cheers.

Vicomte de Mauduit (author of “The Vicomte in the Kitchen”) is credited with identifying the five stages of intoxication: jocose, bellicose, lachrymose, comatose and morotose.

Moët-Chandon-Dom-Pérignon-Champagne-Fire-Extinguisher“The first two,” wrote the Vicomte, “are not only respectable, but very, very nice; the third not quite so respectable and not quite so nice; the fourth not respectable at all, and not a bit nice. As for the fifth, well, it finishes one.”

Copyrighted 2013. All Rights Reserved. When sharing, please attribute to

Follow binNotes:     Facebook    Twitter    Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Amuse Bouche: 5 Stages of Intoxication

Comments? Cheers!

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s